Random Protip

When working with sticky back velcro you can’t exactly sew it on with a sewing machine because it will get the needle all messy and ultimately be very ineffective  since the needle stops going in so well after the first two throughs. But sticky back veclro sucks for some fabrics and often times I experienced it pulling itself off when trying to open it, causing me to quit it all together until recently when I had no other choice. (It was the only velcro around!)

So i tried ironing it, I don’t know why but it was a crazy idea I had – that worked! I ironed it on the other side of the fabric on a higher heat setting. I let it go until it was less sticky and you could easily peel off the veclro (but don’t take it off!) and then I set a small heavy box on top and left it until it dried. It now has a very strong bond and can withstand being ripped.

Leave a Reply

