Sweet and Sour Meatballs Sauce

This is one of my favorite recipes, since it’s fairly quick, very easy to make and tastes great. I usually double the recipe and eat it throughout the week. I prefer it on rice but it also goes well over pasta or on it’s own.

Meatballs
* personally I like to buy a box of meatballs to save on preparation time. Boxed meatballs can be cooked in the oven or in the sauce
1-1/2 lbs Ground Beef
2 Eggs
2 tbsp vegetable oil
3/4 cup Dry Bread Brumbs
2 OXO onion cubes
1/2 cup boiling water
1/2 tsp each salt, pepper

Sauce
1 – 14oz can pineapple chunks
* the pineapples shrink with cooking, chunks end up keeping their size!
2 tbsp cornstarch
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 OXO Beef Cubes, or 4-1/2 tsp OXO Beef Liquid
1-1/2 Cups boiling water
1/2 cup white vinegar
1/4 cup ketchup
2 sweet red, yellow or green peppers cut in bite-size pieces
2 carrots, diagonally sliced and cooked
* I prefer two handfuls of baby carrots, sliced, for quicker preparation
(optional) 3/4 cup small sweet gherkin pickles
*my mom likes them, however I dislike them and leave them out

(meatballs) Combine beef, eggs, bread crumbs, OXO onion cubes dissolved in boiling water, salt and pepper. Shape into 1-1/4″ balls. Brown in 2 tbsp oil. Drain. (Sauce) Drain pineapple chunks reserving juice. Combine cornstarch, sugar and pineapple juice in saucepan. Add OXO Beef cubes dissolved in boiling water, vinegar and ketchup. Cook, stirring constantly til thickened and bubbly. Reduce heat; gently stir in meatballs, pineapple and remaining ingredients. Heat Through. Serve with rice of as an appetizer.

Serves 6-8

*Bonus tip 1: Rather than combine the oxo cubes with water, I use liquid oxo and add directly to the pot. I use the water to quickly stir in the cornstarch with a whisk or fork 1bsp at a time. This prevents it from  clumping when added to the main mixture!

*Bonus tip 2: Is it not thickening to your desiered consistancy? Add more cornstarch and let it cook a bit longer. The cornstarch will help thicken the mixture.

One Comment on “Sweet and Sour Meatballs Sauce”

  1. Shelley says:

    This was one of my favourite recipes, I gave my original to someone and never got it back, I have been trying to make it from memory….Now I have it again….

    Thankyou So Much….


Leave a Reply

